This site will feature Bible-based articles some days, silly posts and quotes at least twice a week and facts about Jack the Ripper-to begin with.

These are some things I have heard kids say in Bible class.

I was observing a class of 4-5 year olds, learning to teach, when I was a teen; this is what some of them said:

A little girl said something ugly to a boy.

The teacher said, “That’s not a very nice thing to say.”

She said to the teacher, “I didn’t say it to you; I said it to him.”

When asked if he wanted to answer the question, a very smart 4 year old would often say, “I don’t feel like it, today.”

 

Years later, I was teaching a class of 4-7 year olds-all boys.  This is some of the things they prayed in class:

“Thank you for the dinosaurs and please bless their bones.”

We had a little girl visitor once and they were talking about their pets.  She said,” I’m kind of sad because my favorite color is pink and my cat’s not pink.”

Another kid said, “You could paint your cat pink.”

I interjected with, “Um, that’s not a very good idea.  It may not be able to breathe very well.”

So, during the prayer, one kid says, “Please don’t let people paint their cats pink, so they suffocate and die.”

 

A lady substituted for me, one Sunday and we were studying the book of Acts.  She told me later, “Um, I think you need to teach the kids what the word Acts means-because I asked them and they answered very enthusiastically, “Yeah!  The kind you kill people with.”

 

About a year ago, I was teaching elementary age kids.

We were going through questions in the book and the answers were two next to each other and two under them.  So the question was “What did the angel say to the shepherds when he appeared to them in the field?”  The choices were:

old               lazy

afraid         stupid

We established that the answer was “afraid”.  The visitor said, “Why is the angel talking to the shepherds like that?”

I said, “What?”

He said, “He is being rude and calling them names-telling them they are stupid.”

I looked at the book and figured out that he was reading the answer wrong, so I said, “No, the answer is only afraid.  He just told them not to be afraid.”

“Ohhhhhh!  He says.

“i thought they were saying, “Don’t be afraid, stupid.”

The whole class got a good laugh out of that and I said, “I don’t think an angel would talk to somebody, like that.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

