This site will feature Bible-based articles some days, silly posts and quotes at least twice a week and facts about Jack the Ripper-to begin with.

By: Holly Green

Phillip did a lesson on dealing with difficult people and used David as an example of someone who had to deal with difficult people.  I had not done a post on this lesson yet and was thinking about some posts I have read lately from blogs I have subscribed to.  These people are dealing with difficult things and sometimes people, so I thought now would be a good time to do this post.

The first example of David was when he faced Goliath, a nine foot giant, who had been taunting the people of Israel for days.  Before he kills Goliath, he was sent to check on his brothers and one of his brothers scolds him for coming.  That would come from someone who knew him best, wouldn’t it?  It seems the people who have known us for years are the ones who will say, “What are you doing here?”

That is exactly what David’s brother said to him, when he arrived.  His brother also tells him, basically, “You just wanted to come see the fight.”

Well, no, because David did not even know that was going on until he got there.  He was just going to check on his brothers and bring back a report to his father.  His brother also says, “I know the maliciousness of your heart.” I Samuel 17:28

This statement is funny to me because I am reading this after the fact and we know that David was called “a man after God’s own heart”.  We also know the man that David grew to become, so when his brother said those things, he did not know it was going to go down in history and he would have to hear about it for the rest of eternity.  🙂  Not really but seriously, his own brother judged him incorrectly and assumed the worst about him.  His response to his brother is not to argue, snap back or attack his brother.  He says, basically, “What have I done now?  Can I not ask a question?”

He then turns away from his brother and starts asking Saul about Goliath and decides to fight him.  Now, David has to deal with Goliath talking trash, “Come to me and I will feed your flesh to the birds of the sky and the beasts of the field.”  It reminds me of pro wrestling, today, where they talk trash before they fight. I Samuel 17:44

David’s response is priceless and summed up, was, “I think you should remember who you are dealing with and that whenever Israel has God on their side, nobody can win.  Not even you.”

Goliath may have heard the stories of Israel and all of the battles they won when they conquered Canaan; and they had been slaves in Egypt.  David wanted to remind Goliath of Israel’s record and that he believed God was with him, so ultimately, it did not matter how big Goliath was or what weapons he had, NOBODY WINS AGAINST GOD.  If God is on your side, however, no one has a chance against you.  This is the best ally you can have, with a really good track record of being faithful to those who serve Him and protecting them.

David’s response in verse 45 is, “You come to me with a sword, a spear, and a javelin, BUT I COME TO YOU IN THE NAME OF THE LORD OF HOSTS, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have taunted.”  I have this verse on my mirror and I look at it every day because I have a difficult person I have to deal with sometimes and last year, I had come to the point where I could not take any more.  I realized that the battle with this person will never end and I needed to stop running from the conflict and know that God is on my side and will fight for me.  It hit me while I was listening to this lesson.  If God can help a shepherd boy kill a giant, shut the mouths of lions so they do not kill Daniel, help one million slaves become a nation, keep a fiery furnace from burning three men alive, and so on, can He not help me with this person in my life?  I realized He can and He will.  It reminds me of the verse, “If God is for us, who can be against us?”  Romans 8:31

David said those words to Goliath right before he killed him and even though we learn this in Bible class as kids, sometimes it is good to remember that God is bigger than a nine foot giant.  He is also bigger than that person or situation you have to deal with.  If He can do all of the things He has done for Jacob, Joseph, David, Noah, Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego and a long list of others, surely He can fight for you.  We can see the evidence in the Bible of people He has saved and promises He has kept and we can trust that He can keep His promises to take care of those who love Him and save them in the end.  🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

