This site will feature Bible-based articles some days, silly posts and quotes at least twice a week and facts about Jack the Ripper-to begin with.

Got five minutes? Here’s a great way to spend them.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat without editing your voice.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Pony up the comment love for the five minuter who linked up before you.

I love reading what you write – it’s five minute art that lasts a lifetime. And it gives me a chance to give one of you a little somethin’ somethin’ from DaySpring, who I love more than cotton candy!

The words above are the gypsy mama’s.  Now I will add my own.  Today’s prompt is:  ON FORGETTING

GO:

Forgetting and I have been friends for years.  When I was a senior in high school, my brother and I were in a head-on collision-head-on for us-back end for them.  At first, I could not remember what I did all day when my boyfriend (now my husband) called  He’d say, “How was your day?”

I’d usually reply with, “Beats me!” or “Your guess is as good as mine!”  I could never have a bad day, at least.

I still have trouble remembering things.  I forget important things.  I even forget things I want to remember.  Most things I forget are appointments-even appts. I wanted to go to.  Terry and the kids keep getting mad at me-you’d think they would get used to it.  They respond with shock still, sometimes.

I forget events, like concerts, like Steph’s band concert or choir concert.  She has to remind me about the concert on that day.  I always feel awful.  I at least know that my brother used to be able to teach his computer classes without notes.  Now that he is married, with kids, he can’t get through a class without them.  I think becoming a parent does something to your memory.  Maybe it’s the stress.

Stop

Comments on: "5 minute friday-On Forgetting" (16)

  1. I agree…parenting does something to your memory. If I don’t write it down, I don’t remember it.

  2. Parenting definitely does do something to your memory! I never knew it affected the men, too. Ha!

    • Weird, huh? It must be the stress. Mental stress or something. It can’t be childbirth since it affects men also. It is kind of funny.
      Thanks for visiting my blog.

  3. I call it “Momzheimers” 🙂

    Enjoyed reading!

  4. I think we need to give ourselves grace as parents- especially moms! We simply can’t remember everything for everyone. That’s why God created lists! LOL

  5. Yes, yes! I echo what the other commenters have said – give yourself grace to forget things. I’m only a daughter at this point, but we children forget things too, and we know that you’re all so full of love that sometimes the details slip out (like grocery lists and trips to the bank). Thanks for sharing with us!

    • Aww! That’s so sweet! Oh yeah! I do remember forgetting things (wow, I just said that!), when I was still just a daughter. I remember is getting worse once I got into college. I guess maybe when you take on more responsibility, you remember less. Who knows! I just know that God made us that way. Maybe he’s up there laughing-of course, not at us but with us. 🙂
      Thanks for visiting again. I’ll have to go read your post.

  6. Oh, yes. Parenting does something to your memory. Wonderful somethings and forgetful somethings. 🙂

  7. Thanks for your encouragement….I do love poetry and some days it just rolls off my tongue or out my mind…they are also thoughts that have been rolling around in my head for some time so the thoughts were strung together quite easily. Being a teacher probably helps too…and I’m currently doing poetry lessons 🙂 ….doing Five minute Friday has helped me think quick. I seem to keep writing in this vein. Loving the challenge 🙂

    • You’re welcome. That’s great that is rolls off like that. It also helps when it is rolling around in your head-ready to come out. I like the Five Minute Friday thing, too. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

