This site will feature Bible-based articles some days, silly posts and quotes at least twice a week and facts about Jack the Ripper-to begin with.

5 minute friday-Loss

It’s Friday and time for 5 minute friday-where I join up with the gypsy mama and write for 5 minutes-no stopping, no editing.  This week’s prompt is LOSS.  In order to do this, I’m going to continue writing about what I was writing about yesterday with FEWER WORDS THURSDAY.

GO.

When I was 19, I got into some trouble and people I had known forever refused to forgive me, telling me that I deserved everything I got.  They said, “I don’t want to hear about your fear, it’s too late for that.”

They also said, “Your life is over.  Now, you have to think about the baby.  It’s life is about to begin.  You can’t be selfish and think about what you want.  It’s too late for that.  You have a decision to make.”

I had lost everything and in making this decision, I gave up everything to make everyone else happy.  I’ve been carrying around this secret for 19 years now.  After 1 session with a counselor, I feel less shame about letting it out.

I know God forgives me.  I have a lot of unresolved issues from that time.  Everyone has moved on but me.  Everyone has been happy but me.

Stop.

Comments on: "5 minute friday-Loss" (6)

  1. I hope you find the strength to love yourself as God loves you: eternally. To forgive yourself even if no one else will. I also hope you do receive that forgiveness from those you desire it from…and that you find peace and happiness in your life.

    Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting.

  2. Write your story. I bet it will minister ot others, as well as yourself.
    Peace to you, Holly.
    Love,
    J.

    • Thank you so much. You keep telling me to write and I have not wanted to write about this. Maybe I should. Thanks for your encouragement.

  3. Holly,
    I have a very similiar experience, but at the time I had 2 boys, was in the middle of ending a horrendeous marriage and I had to make this choice…the story is long and painful, as I see yours is too. But then, we with these particular histories tend to have the same feelings of STOPAGE…
    Like you said, the other’s have moved on … but not you. I was there too … now I am not. Maybe it’s because I became born again [long] after this event.
    However, through my faith and the counsel of God, I have come to peace with my decision.
    Blessings to you, my friend. Blessings.
    Andrea

    • Thank you so much. I was hoping you would comment on this. You always encourage me-my Barnabas. If you don’t know who he is, look him up in the book of Acts in the New Testament. He is mentioned several times.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

