This site will feature Bible-based articles some days, silly posts and quotes at least twice a week and facts about Jack the Ripper-to begin with.

By:
Holly Green

Comments on: "Adam and Eve Grieved the Loss of a Child" (4)

  1. I think, Holly, that they actually lost 2 children, because Cain was sent away to wander who knows where? I don’t know that they ever saw him again. What a metaphor for being lost, wandering in the wilderness for the rest of your life.

    Thanks for thinking of me. This evening my daughter in law asked me if there’d was one time in my life that I could pinpoint as the best, or if I though it was still ahead of me. I said no, the best time of my life is behind me now. It was when we were all here together, before Mike died. But I mean by that, the best time of THIS life…this earthly life. There is a glorious reunion ahead of me. The only problem is that we each have to get there, one at a time, leaving the others behind, temporarily. So I guess the answer to her question is that the best is yet to come, after all.

    God grieved the loss of a murdered child too. But He got His back. And because of that, I’ll get mine back.

    • Great thoughts! You’re welcome. You’re right. The best is yet to come. We will be reunited with loved ones, never to say goodbye.
      Thanks for reading.

  2. It’s me again. After rereading your post I thought of something else. You wondered why it happened to them, and why so soon after they were separated from God. Maybe such a terrible ordeal is one of the only ways to put on paper what the consequences of sin look and feel like. As you said, we’ve been separated from God for so long now, that it’s difficult for us to realize the enormity of that separation. But almost anyone can understand what a terrible thing it would be to have your child murdered by one of your other children.

    When God sent His Son to die, it was to put into reverse everything that Adam and Eve set in motion when they decided to go their own way. He gave us back our choice…do we want to follow Him? Or are we going to go our own way, choose the apple, and wander in the wilderness forever?

    • It’s OK to comment twice. There’s no limit. Those thoughts are so deep, I’m gonna have to think about them for a while. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

