This site will feature Bible-based articles some days, silly posts and quotes at least twice a week and facts about Jack the Ripper-to begin with.

Another Guinea Pig?!????

Life’s full of surprises. On Sunday morning, we found one before we left for church. I was in the kitchen making pancakes, which I don’t usually do on Sunday but I’ve been getting hungry before services get out, and decided to have a bigger breakfast. Anna kept calling my name, which was unusual for a Sunday morning-she’s usually tired and quiet.
“Mom!” She said again.
“What?!” I was a little annoyed because she was calling me while I was trying to get the batter to turn out right-I forgot we were almost out of milk.
“We have another guinea pig!”
I ran upstairs and there it was. A tiny, white baby guinea pig, with gold on its back.
I started freaking out. Anna laughed and said, “Mom, it’s OK.”
I didn’t feel so “OK”. My head was swirling and I felt like I was about to faint. You know that feeling, when you’re surroundings start looking “not real”, you’re head feels light, and you can’t feel the floor anymore?
Anna started talking again and I started listening, which brought me back to feeling fine. Well, not exactly fine but not about to faint. Terry came up the stairs and we all had a conversation but I can’t remember it. I think I said something about being in shock.
At first, I thought Nibbles, the babies’ father was the culprit. Here comes the part where I tell you about something I meant to tell you back in October.
Meet Theo!

20111206-143016.jpg
We bought him on the same day that we gave one of the babies away. Terry said he didn’t plan it but I think he did because I was sad about giving the baby away and worried about Nibbles. He was in a cage by himself and wasn’t happy; guinea pigs are social creatures and need a cage mate.
I hated the name, at first. It was Terry’s idea when Anna was trying to figure out what to name him. Theodore was chosen because he’s “Theodorable!”. You can grunt and roll your eyes if you want. I probably would.
At some point during the day, I asked her if there was ever a time when she had the boys out with the girls. “Of course not!”
Then I asked her if there was ever a time when she had Theo out with Speckles. “Oh, I don’t know. Maybe, probably.”
I thought she was more responsible than that but when we first got Theo, I remember her putting him in the playpen with the girls because she thought they would play or something. Well, guess what happened? Two months later, this.

20111206-143855.jpg
What’s even weirder is that we had a sermon on modern day stress. I think this a lesson for me to just trust God and to go with the flow. Normally, I hate it when things happen that I wasn’t prepared for. Terry’s parents used to come over with no notice and I hated that. I wanted to know they were coming. Sometimes, things like this really throw me for a loop.
Should we get the boys neutered? I hesitate because of the risk, since it’s surgery. Then again, how many more surprises will we get?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

