This site will feature Bible-based articles some days, silly posts and quotes at least twice a week and facts about Jack the Ripper-to begin with.

C Is For Chirping

Welcome to day 3 of the A to Z Challenge! Today’s letter is C and my topic is guinea pigs. I’ve been told that my posts are not appearing on my front page and I am not sure why but will try to fix the issue.
Anyway, guinea pigs have sounds that they make when they are happy, complaining, warning another guinea pig, etc. There is one sound that they make, that I never thought I would hear live. One night, during the winter, I was the only one home and I started hearing a chirping sound. I was playing a game on the computer and ignored it, at first. It kept on, and I thought it was our ceiling fan making a sound. I figured out it was not coming from our room. I walked out into the hall, and could hear the chirping coming from upstairs-where the piggies were. I went into mom mode-“Must…protect…piggies.”
I ran up the stairs and thought a bird was in the house and up there with the piggies. Oh,man! I heard the sound coming from a corner and saw the piggies safe in their cages. So, good, the bird did not get any of the piggies and eat it for dinner.
As I reached the corner, I found Nibbles, one of our boy piggies, loose and under the shelves that we keep their food and stuff in. He had been sick, and I put him in the playpen, to separate him from the other pigs, so as not to get them sick, too. Well, he had broken out and was sitting under the shelves, making this chirping sound. He moved out from under it and sat behind the cage, that had been his, but I had given to the baby and his mother, until he was weaned. I don’t know if Nibbles was expressing his disapproval of his cage being taken, or what. I looked it up on the computer, and it is still a mysterious and misunderstood sound. Some people think a pig makes the sound when very happy, others think it makes the sound when very upset. One site even said he might be giving a news report, or something. I don’t know, but the other pigs were dead still, as if listening to him. It was really weird. I got it on video, though. Here it is:
Btw: I give myself permission to post this video from my youtube channel on this site.
What you are about to see is a very rare guinea pig sound, made by Nibbles.  You may have to turn up the volume.

He got quiet when I started filming him, so I placed my IPad on the floor and hit record, so he wouldn’t know I was filming him.  Here is that video, with no picture, but with better sound.

And there you have it.  Tune in tomorrow, to learn about the sound pigs make when they are startled.

Comments on: "C Is For Chirping" (8)

  1. jenlanebooks said:

    Totally sounds like a bird. How cute! My guinea pig Carrot used to do the more familiar noise “Wreeeee wreeeee!” when we left him alone.

  2. What a strange birdy noise for a Piggie to make. I had a chuckle about him possibly giving a news report.

    “Good evening viewers, my name is Nibbles & here is the 6 o’clock news…”

    “Now we’ll cross to Bully-Taylor for the weather”

  3. “the sound pigs make when they are startled.” Beginning with D???
    Doh!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

